Guest Blog: Finding Myself Through Theatre

 By Josh Ford

Actor Jim Parson once said “Theatre was my first love. I can’t take the theatre out of me. And I wouldn’t want to. To me, it’s home.” I couldn’t agree more. Theatre has always been a big part of my life growing up. As long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to perform on stage. When I was young, I would watch musicals with my mom, and she would always say to me, “there is that sparkle in your eye.”
I really never got to go on stage until I was in high school. My very first show that I was in was Thorton Wilder’s “Skin of our Teeth. And I finished my high school career with “Seussical the Musical.” From 2005-2015 there was a void in my life. I wasn’t doing anything that I liked to do. In 2015, Jenny Rhoads asked me if I would consider being in the Chorus of the musical “Footloose” with Roundtown Players. After that conversation, it felt that I came back alive. Since then I have been in the musical “All Shook Up, and currently right now I am in Neil Simon’s “Rumors.” There is just something about being on stage for me that is relaxing. Honestly, if it was not for the theatre, I believe that I would go completely insane because it is something I am passionate about. If I can do anything in the theatre, I would. Theatre taught me about myself, and I now know who I am because of it.

There is just something about being on stage for me that is relaxing. Honestly, if it was not for the theatre, I believe that I would go completely insane because it is something I am passionate about. If I can do anything in the Theatre, I would. Theatre taught me about myself, and I now know who I am because of it.


Share YOUR story with us!! 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

